The Eastern Fells


The Eastern Fells was the first book published by Alfred Wainwright in 1955. The book covers the 35 fells from Threlkeld in the north to Ambleside in the south, its eastern border being Ullswater and the western the shores of Thirlmere. AW’s description – “In the area of the Eastern Fells the greatest single mass of high ground in Lakeland is concentrated.”
Summits Climbed – 35/35 – Completed

Little Mell Fell
Stone Arthur
Gowbarrow Fell
Glenridding Dodd
Nab Scar
Arnison Crag
Nethermost Pike
White Side
Dollywagon Pike
Great Dodd
Stybarrow Dodd
Saint Sunday Crag
Hart Crag
Dove Crag
Watson’s Dodd
Red Screes
Great Rigg
Hart Side
Seat Sandal
Clough Head
Birkhouse Moor
Sheffield Pike
High Pike (Scandale)
Middle Dodd
Little Hart Crag
Heron Pike
Hartsop Above How
Great Mell Fell
High Hartsop Dodd
Low Pike